Thirst for life

hey, 

I have been wondering for quite some time…. what makes one man different from another… how is it that one man with same set of background and education achieves more in life.. is happier and is satisfied… than another.

What makes people different?? Big question… les assume for a moment 2 people having same set of intelligence and background etc.. theoretically speaking they should be in the same position personally and professionally in their lives! But it never happens.

I have come to realise that the only thing which makes people different from others is their passion for doing things in life which comes from the thirst or love for life.

Viola! Bulls eye! You got it buddy.. but hey hold on.. I still have a question… 

How do you regain your thirst and passion for life if you have seemed to loose  or drop it some where while you were trying to survive.

And by survival I dont mean the basic form of survival..but survival in our jobs, our family lifes etc. We dont live for ourselves.. do we… our actions, inactions, emotions are always reactive in nature to our conditioned jobs and role in family and office.

I guess I have lost my thirst for life… my passion for achievement has gone astray…. and I am scared.

I have work, opportunities at my job…. and I dont feel like putting in the requisite commitment required for completion and getting ahead. We all have ideals and idelogies.. mine is something like Jack Welch… be the no 1 or no 2 in your business… I slightly differ in this… I want to be the numero uno in everything I do.

But…. there is always a but.

The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak and in my case the spirit is not willing enough!!! and I am not doing enough to get there.. I know this and still I am not making any conscious efforts to get there.

It kills.. it really takes away your peace of mind… the battle within… the devil seems to be winning regularly.. and the dull headache of guilt always there with you…

the worst part is that this has now taken a shape of an habit… which in turn has made me loose interest in everything I do.

Great going at an age where the world can be at your feet if you so desire… but the desire should as strong as you need air to breathe… that passion is reserved for a fortune few… few who can be me or u… or is it??

1 Response to “Thirst for life”


  1. 1 Thealterego December 13, 2006 at 06:35

    I have said this time and again and today am putting this on paper (/ in print?).. I really like the way you write and what you write. I find it to be really honest and genuine… and I could relate to it.

    You say you have opportunities but no desire… dear friend.. no opportunity is an opportunity if it does not light up the fire in you to perform and excel..

    I had shared this habit until very recently.. So I know exactly how it feels…We discuss this when we speak next..

    On lighter note.. we live in the society of reservations.. so if the passion is reserved for few.. don’t complain just qualify yourself to be part of the reserved category…and the entry is on qualification for me as well as for you. I have almost managed … hurry up waiting for you to join.


Leave a comment